Relation Between Gluten and Celiac
A gluten-free diet is used to treat Celiac disease. Gluten is a protein found in grains such as Wheat, Barley and Rye. Gluten causes inflammation in the small intestines of people with Celiac disease. Eating a gluten-free diet helps people with Celiac disease control their signs and symptoms and prevent complications.
Cutting gluten from your diet will also result in some really necessary nutrients to go as well. One of them is fiber. Fiber is important for a healthy living. With a little awareness and careful shopping, gluten free diets can contain plenty of healthy fiber. The easiest way to squeeze in fiber in your diet is using fiber supplements. But the question is- which supplement is gluten free?
Fibers Without Gluten are Not Difficult to Find
Nowadays, it is easy to avoid gluten altogether because companies mention whether their products are gluten free. We have previously discussed about fiber supplements like Metamucil, Citrucel and Konsyl.
Fiber supplement powders allow you to mix fiber into your hot and cold beverages or even your pancakes or baked goods. There are two general categories of fiber powders:
First category contains traditional fiber powders made of psyllium husk often have a bit of a flavor and a slightly gritty texture. Psyllium husk powders are often sold as flavored products. Flavored powders may have artificial sweeteners, sugar alcohols and/or artificial flavors and colors. You can also find unflavored psyllium husk powder. Studies have linked intake of psyllium fiber to lower blood cholesterol levels. This kind is usually gluten free.
Second category consists of clear and dissolving powders made of inulin or wheat dextrin that dissolves completely in liquids with no flavor or color. Inulin is a naturally occurring vegetable fiber. The powder is versatile and easy to ingest. These are derived from wheat, therefore naturally have gluten although they may be very minute quantity.
Brands of Fiber Which are Gluten Free
Citrucel– All the products of Citrucel are gluten free- caplets and unflavored, flavored, normal and sweetened powder.
Metamucil– All Metamucil Powders, Fiber Singles, and Capsules are gluten free. However, Metamucil Wafers are not gluten free; please check label for more information. Now there’s a catch. According to FDA, gluten free means that the respective product does not contain any ingredient derived from wheat, rye or barley, and that it contains less than 20 parts per million of gluten. Metamucil powders, Singles and Capsules contain gluten less than 20 ppl per gram of those.
Konsyl– Konsyl has an entire line of gluten free fiber supplements, perfect for celiac patients. Konsyl is made from psyllium which is in the dicot division of plants. Gluten-containing plants are in the monocot division of plants; therefore the two are not even related. However, Konsyl Powder is made from psyllium (5 grams fiber per dose). Konsyl Fiber Tablets are made from calcium polycarbophil (1/2 gram per tablet).
Whichever gluten free fiber supplement you pick for yourself, it is advisable that you speak to tour doctor first. Fiber supplements used wrongly could result in adverse ways.